Employee survey 2012: Committed and satisfied employees at Swiss Post

Press release dated 09.08.2012

Employees of Swiss Post are highly committed and satisfied with their employer. This was revealed by the 2012 survey sent to over 50,000 employees. The scores at group level have remained high compared with the previous year.

The 2012 survey demonstrates that Swiss Post is popular with its employees. Many posties are proud to work for their company. They support the products and services in their unit and are prepared to deliver an above-average performance. Once again, the evaluation of personal commitment came out best: It remained high with a score of 83 out of 100. The commitment index consists of questions on attitude and the conduct of employees (willingness to perform, identification and staff turnover) and forms the central element of the measurement model.

Teamwork scores better

As in the previous year, the picture is similar throughout the whole group. Once again, the evaluation of employee satisfaction scored 75 points and for customer focus 79 points. Many employees indicated that customer focus rates highly in their team. The quality factors for work situation and unit fitness revealed the only significant change at group level: The evaluation of cooperation in the team, within the group units and across the units rose by one point to 73 points. According to employees, the way in which conflicts within their teams are resolved also improved.

Strategy and management

As in previous years, the questions on Swiss Post strategy achieved a medium positive score of 68 points. This includes, for example, questions on whether Swiss Post has changed in a positive way, or whether the group units are moving in the right direction. The management evaluation also achieved the same high score (71 points) as in the previous year, thereby receiving a medium positive score.

Response rate at 75 per cent

According to the survey model, ratings between 60 and 74 points represent a medium positive evaluation, and ratings between 75 and 84 points constitute a high positive evaluation. The anonymous survey was sent to around 50,000 employees in 20 countries. The response rate was a good 75 per cent with almost 38,000 answers. Swiss Post will now analyse the results and take any measures necessary.

Results of the 2012 employee survey

Index
per unit
Group 2011 Group 2012 PostMail 2011 PostMail 2012 PostLogistics 2011 PostLogistics 2012 PostFinance 2011 PostFinance 2012
Commitment 83 83 83 84 82 83 88 87
- Identification 81 81 82 82 81 81 86 86
- Staff turnover 81 81 82 82 80 80 87 87
- Willingness to perform 87 87 87 87 86 86 90 90
Work situation 75 75 76 77 73 73 78 77
Unit fitness* 72 72 71 72 70 71 77 75
Customer focus 79 79 78 78 79 79 83 82
Employee satisfaction 75 75 75 76 73 73 80 79

Index
per unit
PostBus 2011 PostBus 2012 Post Offices & Sales 2011 Post Offices & Sales 2012 Swiss Post International 2011 Swiss Post International 2012 Swiss Post Solutions 2011 Swiss Post Solutions 2012
Commitment 85 86 81 80 84 85 79 79
- Identification 84 85 79 78 82 83 75 75
- Staff turnover 84 85 79 78 83 84 76 76
- Willingness to perform 89 89 84 84 88 88 85 85
Work situation 71 73 77 76 73 74 70 71
Unit fitness* 70 71 72 71 72 73 70 71
Customer focus 77 78 77 75 79 80 81 81
Employee satisfaction 75 76 76 75 73 73 66 67

* Unit fitness encompasses factors such as strategy, management, innovation and teamwork

Sondage du personnel 2012: Des collaborateurs engagés et satisfaits à la Poste

Communication du 09.08.2012

Les collaborateurs de La Poste Suisse sont, dans une large mesure, engagés et satisfaits de leur employeur. C'est ce que révèle le sondage du personnel 2012 envoyé à plus de 50 000 collaborateurs. Les valeurs au niveau du groupe affichent le même niveau élevé que l'année dernière.

Les collaborateurs de La Poste Suisse apprécient leur employeur. C'est ce qui ressort du sondage du personnel 2012. De nombreux postiers sont fiers de travailler pour leur entreprise. Ils soutiennent les produits et les prestations de leur unité et sont prêts à fournir une performance supérieure à la moyenne. Une fois de plus, l'évaluation de l'engagement personnel a atteint un très haut niveau: elle demeure inchangée avec 83 points sur 100. L'indice de l'engagement, qui se compose de questions sur l'état d'esprit et le comportement des collaborateurs (volonté de performances, identification et fluctuation du personnel), joue un rôle central dans le sondage du personnel.

Meilleure évaluation de la collaboration

Dans la perspective du groupe tout entier, l'image qui se dessine est similaire à celle de l'année dernière. L'évaluation de la satisfaction du personnel a à nouveau atteint 75 points et celle de l'orientation clients 79 points. De nombreux collaborateurs ont fait savoir que l'orientation clients revêtait une importance majeure pour leur équipe. La seule évolution significative à l'échelle du groupe concerne les facteurs de qualité dans la situation professionnelle et la compétitivité des unités: l'évaluation de la collaboration au sein de l'équipe, dans les unités du groupe et entre les unités a progressé d’un point pour s'établir à 73 points. De l'avis des collaborateurs, la manière dont les conflits sont réglés dans leur équipe s'est aussi améliorée.

Stratégie et direction

Comme les années précédentes, les questions relatives à la stratégie de la Poste ont obtenu une valeur positive moyenne avec 68 points. Il s'agissait notamment de savoir si la Poste évoluait positivement et si les unités du groupe avançaient dans la bonne direction. L'évaluation de la direction a également atteint le niveau de l'année dernière, soit 71 points, ce qui représente aussi une valeur positive moyenne.

Taux de réponse de 75%

Selon le modèle du sondage, les valeurs entre 60 et 74 points correspondent à une évaluation positive moyenne, les valeurs entre 75 et 84 dénotant une évaluation positive élevée. Le sondage anonyme a été envoyé à plus de 50 000 collaborateurs dans 20 pays. Avec 38 000 réponses, le taux de réponse atteint un peu plus de 75%. La Poste va à présent procéder à l'analyse des résultats et, le cas échéant, prendre les mesures qui s'imposent.

Résultats du sondage du personnel 2012

Indice par unité Groupe 2011 Groupe 2012 PostMail 2011 PostMail 2012 PostLogistics 2011 PostLogistics 2012 PostFinance 2011 PostFinance 2012
Engagement 83 83 83 84 82 83 88 87
- Identification 81 81 82 82 81 81 86 86
- Fluctuation du personnel 81 81 82 82 80 80 87 87
- Volonté de performances 87 87 87 87 86 86 90 90
Situation professionnelle 75 75 76 77 73 73 78 77
Compétitivité des unités* 72 72 71 72 70 71 77 75
Orientation clients 79 79 78 78 79 79 83 82
Satisfaction du personnel 75 75 75 76 73 73 80 79

Indice par unité CarPostal 2011 CarPostal 2012 Réseau postal et vente 2011 Réseau postal et vente 2012 Swiss Post International 2011 Swiss Post International 2012 Swiss Post Solutions 2011 Swiss Post Solutions 2012
Engagement 85 86 81 80 84 85 79 79
- Identification 84 85 79 78 82 83 75 75
- Fluctuation du personnel 84 85 79 78 83 84 76 76
- Volonté de performances 89 89 84 84 88 88 85 85
Situation professionnelle 71 73 77 76 73 74 70 71
Compétitivité des unités* 70 71 72 71 72 73 70 71
Orientation clients 77 78 77 75 79 80 81 81
Satisfaction du personnel 75 76 76 75 73 73 66 67

* La compétitivité des unités recouvre des facteurs tels que la stratégie, la direction, l'innovation et la collaboration.