Swiss Post and La Poste announce launch of ASENDIA, combining their international mail activities

Press release dated 09.07.2012

Swiss Post and the French La Poste formed an alliance of their respective international mail activities on 6 July 2012, for which they have received all required regulatory approvals. The partners had announced their intention to establish the joint venture in December 2011. They are launching “ASENDIA by La Poste and Swiss Post”, a joint venture company equally owned by both partners, that aims to become the leader in B2C solutions for international mail.

Swiss Post and the French La Poste are launching ASENDIA, having received all the required regulatory approvals. ASENDIA brings together the expertise and networks of the existing international mail activities of Swiss Post (Swiss Post International) and La Poste (La Poste Global Mail)*. With over 1,000 employees, ASENDIA is currently present on three continents: Europe, North America and Asia, and in over 25 locations in 15 countries.

With a turnover of more than EUR 400 million, ASENDIA is positioned from the outset as one of the global leaders in international mail, a market with estimated revenues of more than EUR 10 billion in 2011 and with strong growth in segments such as direct marketing, catalogues and small goods.

ASENDIA leans on the strengths and values of Swiss Post and La Poste and will focus on improving existing services and developing new innovative solutions for the benefit of its customers.

The chairmanship of its Board of Directors has been entrusted to Ulrich Hurni, Head of Post Mail and Deputy CEO of Swiss Post. Marc Pontet, previously Deputy CEO and in charge of marketing and sales at Courrier and CEO of La Poste’s Global Mail, has been appointed Chief Executive Officer.

*Excluding the import and export business in France and Switzerland. The universal postal service in France and Switzerland are not included in the joint venture.

The new brand name and visual identity are designed to represent ASENDIA’s ambition and heritage.

The brand is supported by the motto “The world is your address”, which expresses ASENDIA’s commitment to its existing and future customers, offering them international B2C solutions that support their international growth and investments.

Quotes

“Swiss Post and La Poste are delighted to take this additional step in the development of their international mail businesses together, which confirms the importance of this activity for our groups and for our customers”, states Ulrich Hurni, Chairman of the Board of Directors of ASENDIA.

“The creation of ASENDIA enables La Poste and Swiss Post to bring together the best of their expertise and solutions in order to offer their international clients innovative solutions and to accompany them in their development”, says Marc Pontet, Chief Executive Officer of ASENDIA.

ASENDIA Profile

ASENDIA’s sector of activity covers all international mail solutions, including the dispatch and delivery of mail, catalogues, press and small goods up to 2 kg, as well as upstream and downstream services in the value chain (www.asendia.com).

ASENDIA will operate from headquarters in Paris and Berne.

Locations: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany,  Hong Kong, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the USA.

Current companies that make up ASENDIA: Brokers Worldwide, Priority Post and La Poste Office of Exchange in the United States, SPI Singapore and SPI Hong Kong in Asia, SPI Germany and La Poste Deutschland in Germany, BTB Mailflight, SPI UK and La Poste UK in the United Kingdom, as well as SPI Netherlands, Mail Partner Spain, Allied Business Company of Mail Services, SPI Austria, SP Porta a Porta, SPI Belgium, SPI Scandinavia, SPI Norway, Edigroup, Export & Distribution Services, Media Data Services, SPI France and La Poste - The International Mail Solution throughout continental Europe.

ASENDIA Board of Directors

Ulrich Hurni, Chairman Head of PostMail, Deputy CEO of Swiss Post Group
Nicolas Routier, Vice-Chairman Deputy CEO of Groupe La Poste, CEO of Courrier, Chairman of Sofipost
Frank Marthaler Head of Swiss Post Solutions, Member of Swiss Post Group Executive Management
Xavier Girre Deputy CEO, CFO of Groupe La Poste
Dieter Bambauer Head of PostLogistics, Member of Swiss Post Group Executive Management
Christian Emery COO Europe of Geopost Group

ASENDIA Management Board

Marc Pontet Chief Executive Officer
Daniel Bättig Deputy CEO, Chief Financial Officer and Executive Director Asia
Béatrice Roux Deputy CEO, Executive Director Europe
Marina Bartetzko-Meyer Chief Marketing Officer
Sabine Graf Chief Human Resources Officer
Michael J. Hastings Executive Director North America
Renaud Marlière Chief Sales Officer
André M. Maurer Chief Operations Officer

Background information

SWISS POST

Swiss Post is a public company owned by the Swiss Confederation. The Swiss Post Group has 61,500 employees, with 7,700 staff members based outside Switzerland.  In 2011, the Group’s operating income totalled CHF 8.6 billion and the operating result was CHF 908 million.  Around 13% of operating income was generated abroad. The international cross-border mail business attained an operating result of CHF 51 million and contributed CHF 780 million to the Group’s operating income. In its domestic business, Swiss Post transported 2.3 billion addressed letters, 1.3 billion unaddressed items, 1.3 billion newspapers and over 107 million parcels, and is a major player in Swiss retail banking.

 www.swisspost.ch

LA POSTE GROUP

A limited company in 100% public ownership since 1 March 2010, La Poste is an innovative multi-business group structured around four activities: mail, parcels-express, banking and the La Poste retail brand. Each year, La Poste’s 17,000 branches are visited by some 45 million individuals and 3.5 million business customers. By offering the best of both paper and digital, La Poste seeks to transform mail into the premium media of customer relations, relying on its modern industrial systems, new technologies and its network of highly professional postal workers. In 2011, La Poste Group generated revenue of EUR 21.3 billion and employed more than 268,000 staff. La Poste is aspiring to become a European leader in local postal and financial services by 2015. True to its values and public service missions, and backed by the commitment of its postal workers, La Poste Group aims to become a benchmark in the arena of the modern public enterprise.

 www.laposte.fr/legroupe

La Poste Suisse et La Poste française annoncent le lancement d’ASENDIA, qui réunit leurs activités de courrier international

Communication du 09.07.2012

Le 6 juillet 2012, La Poste Suisse et La Poste française, ayant reçu tous les accords réglementaires nécessaires, ont finalisé la fusion de leurs activités respectives de courrier international*. En décembre 2011, les deux partenaires avaient fait part de leur intention de créer une joint-venture. Elles lancent «ASENDIA by La Poste and Swiss Post», une coentreprise détenue à parts égales par les deux partenaires qui a pour ambition de devenir le leader des solutions B2C pour le courrier international.

La Poste Suisse et La Poste française lancent ASENDIA, après avoir obtenu toutes les autorisations réglementaires nécessaires. ASENDIA regroupe les réseaux et les expertises des divisions de courrier international existantes de La Poste Suisse (Swiss Post International) et de La Poste française (La Poste Global Mail)*. Avec plus de 1000 collaborateurs, ASENDIA est actuellement présente sur trois continents – Europe, Amérique du Nord et Asie – et dans 15 pays à travers de 25 implantations.

Avec un chiffre d’affaires de plus de 400 millions d’euros, ASENDIA se positionne d’emblée comme l’un des leaders mondiaux du courrier international, un marché estimé à plus de 10 milliards d’euros en 2011, avec des secteurs en forte croissance : le marketing direct, les catalogues et les petites marchandises.

ASENDIA s’appuie sur les forces et valeurs de La Poste Suisse et de La Poste française et sera animée par la volonté d’améliorer les services existants et de développer de nouvelles solutions innovantes au bénéfice de ses clients. La présidence de son conseil d’administration est confiée à Ulrich Hurni, directeur de PostMail et directeur général adjoint de la Poste Suisse. Marc Pontet, qui était auparavant directeur général adjoint, en charge de marketing et du commerce Courrier et président de la Poste Global Mail au sein de La Poste, et nommé directeur général.

*A l’exception des activités import et export en France et en Suisse. Le service universel postal en France et en Suisse ne fait pas partie de la coentreprise.

Le nouveau nom de marque et l’identité visuelle ont été conçus pour porter à la fois l’ambition et l’héritage d’ASENDIA.

La marque est soutenue par la signature «The world is your address», qui traduit l’engagement d’ASENDIA vis-à-vis de ses clients actuels et futurs : leur proposer des solutions B2C internationales de qualité qui soutiendront leur croissance et leurs investissements à l’international.

Citations

«La Poste française et la Poste Suisse se réjouissent de franchir ensemble ce pas supplémentaire dans le développement de leurs activités de courrier international, qui confirme l’importance de cette activité pour nos groupes et pour nos clients», souligne Ulrich Hurni, président du conseil d’administration d’ASENDIA.

«La création d’ASENDIA permet à La Poste française et à la Poste Suisse de réunir le meilleur de leurs expertises et solutions, afin de proposer à nos clients internationaux des solutions innovantes, à même de les accompagner dans leur développement», déclare Marc Pontet, directeur général d’ASENDIA.

Fiche d’identité d’ASENDIA

Le secteur d’activité d’ASENDIA couvre l’ensemble des solutions de courrier international incluant l’envoi et la distribution de courrier, catalogues, presse et petites marchandises jusqu’à 2 kg ainsi que des prestations amont et aval dans la chaîne de valeur (www.asendia.com).

ASENDIA opérera depuis deux sièges, à Paris et Berne.

Implantations: Allemagne, Autriche, Belgique, Danemark, Espagne, Etats-Unis, France, Hong Kong, Italie, Norvège, Pays-Bas, Royaume-Uni, Singapour, Suède, Suisse.

Sociétés existantes constituant ASENDIA: Brokers Worldwide, Priority Post et La Poste Office of Exchange aux Etats-Unis; SPI Singapore et SPI Hong Kong en Asie; SPI Germany et La Poste Deutschland en Allemagne; BTB Mailflight, SPI UK et La Poste UK au Royaume Uni; ainsi que SPI Netherlands, Mail Partner Spain, Allied Business Company of Mail Services, SPI Austria, SP Porta a Porta, SPI Belgium, SPI Scandinavia, SPI Norway, Edigroup, Export & Distribution Services, Media Data Services, SPI France et La Poste The international Mail Solution à travers toute l’Europe continentale.

Conseil d’administration d’ASENDIA

Ulrich Hurni, président Directeur de PostMail, directeur général adjoint du groupe de la Poste Suisse
Nicolas Routier, vice-président Directeur général adjoint du Groupe La Poste, directeur général du Courrier, président de SOFIPOST
Frank Marthaler Directeur de Swiss Post Solutions, membre de la direction du groupe de la Poste Suisse
Xavier Girre Directeur général adjoint, directeur financier du Groupe La Poste
Dieter Bambauer Directeur de PostLogistics, membre de la direction du groupe de la Poste Suisse
Christian Emery Directeur général délégué Europe du Groupe GEOPOST

Comité exécutif (Management Board) d’ASENDIA

Marc Pontet Directeur général
Daniel Bättig Directeur général adjoint, directeur financier et directeur exécutif Asie
Béatrice Roux Directeur général adjoint, directeur exécutif Europe
Marina Bartetzko-Meyer Directeur marketing
Sabine Graf Directeur des ressources humaines
Michael J. Hastings Directeur exécutif Amérique du Nord
Renaud Marlière Directeur commercial
André M. Maurer Directeur des opérations

Informations complémentaires

LA POSTE SUISSE

La Poste Suisse est une entreprise de droit public, détenue par la Confédération suisse. Le groupe emploie 61 500 personnes dont 7 700 basées hors de Suisse. En 2011, le revenu d’exploitation du Groupe a totalisé 8,6 milliards de CHF et le bénéfice d’exploitation a été de 908 millions de CHF.  Environ 13% du revenu d’exploitation a été généré à l’étranger. L’activité internationale de courrier transfrontalier a atteint un résultat d’exploitation de 51 millions de CHF et contribué pour 780 millions de CHF au revenu d’exploitation du groupe. Dans le cadre de son activité nationale, la Poste Suisse a transporté 2,3 milliards de lettres adressées, 1,3 milliard d’objets non adressés, 1,3 milliard de journaux et plus de 107 millions de colis. C’est également l’un des principaux établissements financiers grand public en Suisse.

 www.poste.ch

GROUPE LA POSTE

Société anonyme à capitaux 100% publics depuis le 1er mars 2010, La Poste est un modèle novateur de groupe multi-business structuré autour de quatre principaux domaines d’activité: le Courrier, les Colis Express, La Banque Postale et la marque La Poste. Chaque année, les 17 000 points de contact de La Poste accueillent 45 millions de clients privés et 3,5 millions de clients commerciaux. En offrant le meilleur au niveau du courrier papier et numérique, La Poste a vocation à s’appuyer sur sa structure industrielle, ses technologies novatrices et son réseau de collaborateurs hautement qualifiés pour faire du courrier le premier média de relations clients. En 2011, le groupe La Poste a réalisé un chiffre d’affaires de 21,3 milliards d’euros et emploie plus de 268 000 collaborateurs et collaboratrices. Le Groupe La Poste aspire à devenir d’ici 2015 un leader européen des services locaux postaux et financiers. Fidèle à ses valeurs et à son mandat de service public, fort de l’engagement de l’ensemble de ses employé(e)s, le groupe La Poste entend devenir une référence parmi les entreprises publiques modernes.

 www.laposte.fr/legroupe