Thriving PostFinance

Press release dated 16.08.2012

PostFinance has been successful in the first semester of 2012. Profit amounted to CHF 296 million. Swiss Post’s financial institute gained 63,000 new customers who opened 134,000 new accounts. The customer assets it manages amounted to CHF 102 billion. In a difficult context, PostFinance created 42 new full-time jobs. Preparatory work for assigning PostFinance under the FINMA’s supervision is going as planned.

PostFinance generated a profit of CHF 296 million in the first semester of 2012. This was 9.5 percent lower compared to the same period of the previous year (CHF 327 million). This result was primarily due to the historically low interest rates on the financial markets. PostFinance sometimes deposits customer’s money interest-free at the Swiss National Bank, which heavily pressures the interest margin. The customer assets under management amounted to CHF 102 billion at the end of June.

New postal accounts and jobs

In the first semester of this year, PostFinance opened 134,000 new accounts and gained 63,000 new customers. All together, the financial institute had a total of over 2.85 million customers with almost 4.5 million accounts by the end of June. Half of the customers manage their finances electronically with e-finance: 1.4 million users have made PostFinance the number one in Swiss online banking. PostFinance once more increased the amount of full-time jobs between January and June 2012 – this time by 42 positions to 3,464.

On the way to PostFinance Ltd

The Swiss parliament had adopted a new Postal Organisation Act at the end of 2010. Amongst other things, it contains PostFinance’s transformation into a public limited company as well as assigning it under the supervision of the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA). The start as a public limited company is planned for the next year. The preparatory works are currently in progress. PostFinance will have a Board of Directors and its own internal auditing department. PostFinance AG will be provided with equity in accordance with the financial market requirements. The FINMA will determine its amount and the time of provision as part of the authorisation process.

PostFinance key figures Q2/2012 Q2/2011 2011
Company profit EBT (CHF million)
including associated companies (SIC, SECB)
296 327 591
Operating income (CHF million)
- Net interest income after losses
- Income from the commission and service business
- Income from the trade business
745
533
146
66
760
541
147
69
1,474
1,024
301
147
Operating expenses (CHF million)
- HR expenses
- Material expenses
446
239
207
424
225
199
872
446
426
Amount of customers (reporting date, in thousands) 2,874 2,738 2,811
Amount of customer accounts (reporting date, in thousands) 4,470 4,182 4,336
Customer assets (annual average, CHF million)  102,062 89,878 92,225
Funds and securities (reporting date, CHF million) 4,367 3,979 3,998
Mortgages from private customers (reporting date, CHF million) 3,918 3,444 3,684
Loans to business customers (reporting date, CHF million) 6,216 6,139 6,842
E-finance users (reporting date, in thousands) 1,415 1,280 1,350
Staff (full-time positions, annual average) 3,464 3,395 3,422
Millions of processed transactions (deadline, accumulated) 458 446 907

Swiss Post’s half-yearly result will be published on 30 August 2012.

Franc succès pour PostFinance

Communication du 16.08.2012

Au premier semestre 2012, PostFinance a affiché des résultats prometteurs, avec un bénéfice atteignant 296 millions de francs. L'établissement financier de la Poste a gagné 63 000 nouveaux clients, qui ont ouvert 134 000 nouveaux comptes. Le volume de fonds gérés pour la clientèle s'est élevé à 102 milliards de francs. Malgré un contexte difficile, PostFinance a créé 42 postes de travail à plein temps. Les travaux préparatoires en vue de l'assujettissement de PostFinance à la FINMA se déroulent comme prévu.

PostFinance a bouclé le premier semestre 2012 sur un bénéfice de 296 millions de francs, soit 9,5% de moins qu'à la même période de l'an dernier (327 millions de francs). Ce résultat est dû principalement aux taux d'intérêt historiquement bas sur les marchés financiers: une partie des avoirs de la clientèle, que PostFinance place auprès de la Banque nationale suisse, ne rapporte pas d'intérêts, ce qui a pour effet de comprimer sensiblement la marge d’intérêts. Fin juin 2012, les fonds de clients représentaient 102 milliards de francs.

Nouveaux comptes postaux et créations d'emplois

Au cours du premier semestre de cette année, PostFinance a ouvert 134 000 nouveaux comptes et gagné 63 000 nouveaux clients. Au total, l'établissement financier comptait à la fin juin plus de 2,85 millions de clients pour près de 4,5 millions de comptes. La moitié de ces clients gèrent d'ores et déjà leurs finances par voie électronique avec e-finance: avec 1,4 million d'utilisateurs, PostFinance occupe la première place des services financiers en ligne en Suisse. Entre janvier et juin 2012, PostFinance a une fois de plus étoffé ses effectifs en créant 42 postes à plein temps, portant leur nombre à 3464.

Vers une transformation en PostFinance SA

Fin 2010, le Parlement a adopté une nouvelle loi sur l'organisation de la Poste. Elle prévoit notamment la transformation de PostFinance en une société anonyme et son assujettissement à l'Autorité de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA). Le lancement de la SA est prévu pour l'an prochain. Pour l'heure, les travaux préparatoires vont bon train. PostFinance disposera d'un conseil d'administration et d'un organe de révision interne qui lui est propre. PostFinance SA sera dotée de capitaux propres répondant aux exigences de la législation sur les marchés financiers. Le montant correspondant et la date à laquelle ces capitaux devront être mis à disposition seront déterminés dans le cadre du processus d’autorisation avec la FINMA.

Chiffres clés de PostFinance 2e T 2012 2e T 2011 2011
Bénéfice de l'entreprise EBT (en millions de CHF), y compris les sociétés associées (SIC, SECB) 296 327 591
Produit d'exploitation (en millions de CHF)
- Résultats des opérations d'intérêts après correctifs de valeurs
- Résultat des opérations de commissions et de prestations
- Résultat des opérations de négoce
745
533

146

66
760
541

147

69
1474
1024

301

147
Charges d'exploitation (en millions de CHF)
- Charges de personnel
- Charges de matériel
446
239
207
424
225
199
872
446
426
Nombre de clients (jour de référence, en milliers) 2874 2738 2811
Nombre de comptes clients (jour de référence, en milliers) 4470 4182 4336
Fonds des clients (moyenne annuelle, en millions de CHF) 102 062 89 878 92 225
Fonds et titres (jour de référence, en millions de CHF) 4367 3979 3998
Hypothèques Clients privés (jour de référence, en millions de CHF) 3918 3444 3684
Prêts Clients commerciaux (jour de référence, en millions de CHF) 6216 6139 6842
Utilisateurs e-finance (jour de référence, en milliers) 1415 1280 1350
Effectifs (postes à plein temps, moyenne annuelle) 3464 3395 3422
Transactions traitées (jour de référence, cumulées, en millions) 458 446 907

Les résultats semestriels de La Poste Suisse seront publiés le 30 août 2012.