An excellent set of results from Swiss Post

Press release dated 31.03.2011

Swiss Post achieved an excellent set of results in 2010. Group profit surpassed the CHF 728 million posted in the previous year to reach CHF 910 million. Operating income climbed to CHF 8,736 million (2009: CHF 8,558 million). Key factors contributing to the improvement in earnings included the increase in customer deposits, optimization measures and higher parcel volumes. In all four of the markets in which Swiss Post operates, it achieved positive results and made further progress. The letter business remained strong. Headcount increased by a total of 326 full-time equivalents in 2010. Swiss Post needs healthy profits in order to further increase its equity, help finance the pension fund, fund its investments and distribute an appropriate share of profit to the Confederation.

Swiss Post generated a Group profit of CHF 910million in 2010, 25 percent more than in the previous year. Operating income increased by 2.1 percent to CHF 8,736 million (2009: CHF 8,558 million). Swiss Post improved its results in the communications, logistics and retail financial markets as well as in the market for public passenger transport. The key factors contributing to the Group's profit growth primarily included the increase in customer deposits and resulting rise in net interest income in the retail financial market, cost savings in the communications and logistics markets, and higher parcel volumes.

The operating profit margin climbed from 8.4 percent in the previous year to 10.7 percent. Investments in 2010 were down on the previous year (CHF 431 million) at CHF 364 million. Once again, they were financed entirely out of Swiss Post's own funds. At year-end and before the appropriation of profit for 2010, equity amounted to CHF 4,224 million, which is below the standard level for the sector.  Group headcount increased by 326 year on year to 45,129 full-time equivalents.

As in previous years, Swiss Post will have to help finance its pension fund, gradually lift its equity to a level that is standard for the sector and in line with the requirements of the financial market supervisory authority FINMA, finance its investments out of its own funds and give the Confederation an appropriate share of profit. To do so, it needs healthy results underpinned by all Group units. The Board of Directors is proposing to the Federal Council that CHF 100 million of the profit for 2010 be used to finance the pension fund, CHF 200 million be distributed to the Confederation and to further increase equity.

Good results in all four markets

While all markets contributed to the excellent set of consolidated results for 2010, performance varied across the individual Group units. 61 percent of Group earnings come from the retail financial market. In the communications market, four Swiss Post Group units (PostMail, Swiss Post International, Swiss Post Solutions, Post Offices & Sales) achieved an operating result totalling CHF 147 million (2009: CHF 113 million). Business with letters and promotional mailings remained strong, enabling PostMail to achieve a result of CHF 199 million (2009: CHF 198 million) on operating income of CHF 2,619 million (2009: CHF 2,808 million). Falls in income, attributable among other things to a weaker decline in the volume of addressed letters of 1.5 percent, the price reductions introduced on 1 July 2009 and electing to be liable to value-added tax, were offset by efficiency gains, more specifically at the new letter centres and in deliveries.

Swiss Post International achieved a result of CHF 49 million (2009: CHF 53 million) on operating income of CHF 788 million (2009: CHF 877 million). The decline was due mainly to exceptional factors, more specifically the one-time restructuring expenses that became necessary as a result of Deutsche Post's decision to import into Switzerland the parcels previously assigned to Swiss Post through its own company, DHL.  On operating income of CHF 665 million (2009: CHF 696 million), Swiss Post Solutions achieved a result of CHF 7 million – considerably more than in the previous year, when one-time integration and restructuring expenses at individual companies pushed the result down to a loss of CHF 25 million. On operating income of CHF 1,769 million (2009: CHF 1,359 million), the Group's Post Offices & Sales unit lifted its result to CHF -108 million (2009: CHF -113 million). In addition to the integration of Stamps & Philately, the result was positively impacted by a generally favourable trend in business, more specifically in the sale of non-postal brand-name items, and cost effects resulting from the development of the post office network.

In the logistics market, the result rose by CHF 119 million year on year to CHF 164 million (2009: CHF 45 million), with PostLogistics benefiting, among other things, from an increase in parcel volumes driven by the economic climate and electronic commerce (+3.8 percent) and significant efficiency gains; the moderate decline in income to CHF 1,478 million (2009: CHF 1,488 million) was by far offset by reductions in expenditure. At CHF 571 million, the retail financial market (PostFinance) made the largest contribution to the Group result (2009: CHF 441 million). The rise in operating income to CHF 2,389 million (2009: CHF 2,160 million) was largely attributable to higher customer assets and the resulting increase in net interest income as well as lower impairment charges.  In the continuously expanding market for public passenger transport, PostBus achieved an operating result of CHF 28 million (2009: CHF 27 million) on operating income of CHF 702 million (2009: CHF 640 million).

Keeping costs under control and safeguarding earnings

The only moderately upbeat economic outlook and ever fiercer competition, the sustained effects of substitution, business customers' efforts to optimize their consignments, the still-insufficient equity base and the sole dependence on PostFinance's earnings all confirm Swiss Post's firm belief that it should remain on its chosen path. In all four of the markets in which it operates, it aims to keep costs under control, diversify earnings across as wide a base as possible and offer its customers first-rate services at competitive prices.

Key figures for Swiss Post Group

Figure Unit 2010 2009
Operating income4 CHF million 8,736 8,558
Operating result (EBIT)1 CHF million 930 721
as % of operating income (return on sales) % 10.7 8.4
Group profit CHF million 910 728
Total assets CHF million 93,310 84,676
Equity CHF million 4,224 3,534
Investments2 CHF million 364 431
Headcount at Swiss Post Group (excl. trainees) FTEs3 45,129 44,803
of which abroad FTEs3 7,255 6,986
Trainees at Swiss Post Group in Switzerland FTEs3 1,824 1,690
Addressed letters, domestic Millions of items sent 2,365 2,401
Parcels, domestic Millions of items sent 108 104
Access points Number 3,612 3,607

Selected key figures by segment (Group units)

Communications market Figure Unit 2010 2009
Communications market Operating result1,5 CHF million 147 113
PostMail Operating income5 CHF million 2,619 2,808
PostMail Operating result (EBIT)1,5 CHF million 199 198
Swiss Post International Operating income4,5 CHF million 788 877
Swiss Post International Operating result (EBIT)1,5 CHF million 49 53
Swiss Post International Letters sent (from Switzerland)5 Millions of items sent 74.4 170
Swiss Post Solutions Operating income CHF million 665 696
Swiss Post Solutions Operating result (EBIT)1 CHF million 7 -25
Post Offices & Sales Operating income5 CHF million 1,769 1,359
Post Offices & Sales Operating result (EBIT)1,5 CHF million -108 -113

Logistics market Figure Unit 2010 2009
PostLogistics Operating income5 CHF million 1,478 1,488
PostLogistics Operating result (EBIT)1,5 CHF million 164 45

Retail financial market Figure Unit 2010 2009
PostFinance Operating income CHF million 2,389 2,160
PostFinance Operating result (EBIT)1 CHF million 571 441
PostFinance Net inflow of new money CHF million 10,662 20,120

Public passenger transport market Figure Unit 2010 2009
PostBus Operating income CHF million 702 640
PostBus Operating result (EBIT)1 CHF million 28 27
PostBus Number of passengers in Switzerland Millions of persons 121 118

1 Operating result corresponds to operating profit before net non-operating financial income/expense and taxes (EBIT)
2 Investment in property, plant and equipment, equity interests and intangible assets
3 Average expressed in terms of full-time equivalents
4 Prior-year figures for SPI adjusted as a result of restatement
5 Prior-year figures only comparable to a certain extent due to changes in the allocation of products

Excellent résultat annuel de la Poste

Communication du 31.03.2011

La Poste Suisse a enregistré un excellent résultat en 2010. S'inscrivant à 910 millions de francs, le bénéfice consolidé a dépassé celui de l'exercice précédent qui se montait à 728 millions. Quant aux produits d'exploitation, ils atteignent 8,736 milliards de francs (2009: 8,558 milliards). Parmi les facteurs essentiels ayant contribué à l'amélioration du résultat figurent l'augmentation des fonds de clients, les mesures d'optimisation et la hausse du volume des colis. La Poste affiche des résultats positifs sur les quatre marchés où elle opère et progresse encore. L'activité du courrier continue à prospérer, alors que les effectifs se sont accrus de 326 emplois au total en 2010. La Poste a besoin de dégager de solides bénéfices pour continuer à augmenter ses fonds propres, financer sa caisse de pensions ainsi que ses investissements et verser une part appropriée de ses revenus à la Confédération.

LaPoste Suisse boucle l'exercice 2010 sur un bénéfice consolidé de 910millions de francs, en progression de 25% par rapport à 2009. Ses produits d'exploitation ont augmenté de 2,1% pour s'établir à 8,736 milliards de francs (2009: 8,558 milliards). La Poste améliore ses résultats à la fois sur les marchés de la communication, de la logistique, des services financiers grand public et des transports publics. La croissance du bénéfice consolidé est surtout le fruit de l'augmentation des fonds des clients et, partant, du résultat plus élevé des opérations d'intérêts sur le marché des services financiers grand public, de la baisse des coûts sur les marchés de la communication et de la logistique ainsi que de la hausse du volume des colis.

La marge du résultat d'exploitation a progressé de 8,4 à 10,7% par rapport à 2009. Etablis à 364 millions de francs en 2010, les investissements ont été inférieurs à ceux de l'exercice précédent (431 millions) et à nouveau entièrement autofinancés. Les fonds propres avant utilisation du bénéfice 2010 se montaient à 4,224 milliards de francs à fin décembre, valeur inférieure au niveau usuel dans la branche. A l'échelle du groupe, les effectifs ont augmenté de 326 unités pour atteindre 45 129 équivalents plein temps.

Comme par le passé, la Poste devra continuer à contribuer au financement de sa caisse de pensions et à augmenter progressivement ses fonds propres pour atteindre le niveau usuel dans sa branche et pour répondre aux exigences de l'Autorité de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA), à financer en toute autonomie ses investissements et à verser une part appropriée de ses revenus à la Confédération. Pour qu'elle y parvienne, il faudra que toutes les unités du groupe dégagent de bons résultats. S'agissant du bénéfice 2010 de la Poste, le Conseil d'administration propose au Conseil fédéral de verser 100 millions de francs à la caisse de pensions et 200 millions de francs à la Confédération, et de continuer à augmenter les fonds propres de l'entreprise.

De bons résultats sur les quatre marchés

Tous les marchés ont contribué au très bon résultat du groupe 2010, bien que la performance des différentes unités du groupe ait varié. Le marché des services financiers grand public est à l'origine de 61% du résultat consolidé. Sur le marché de la communication, les quatre unités du groupe PostMail, Swiss Post International, Swiss Post Solutions ainsi que Réseau postal et vente ont généré ensemble un résultat d'exploitation de 147 millions de francs (2009: 113 millions). Grâce à des activités toujours aussi dynamiques dans les secteurs du courrier et des envois publicitaires, PostMail a enregistré des produits d'exploitation de 2,619 milliards de francs (2009: 2,808 milliards) et un résultat de 199 millions de francs (2009: 198 millions). La baisse des recettes, due entre autres à un léger recul du volume des lettres adressées de 1,5%, à la diminution des prix entrée en vigueur le 1er juillet 2009 et à l'assujettissement de l'entreprise à la taxe sur la valeur ajoutée, a été compensée par un accroissement de l'efficacité, en particulier dans les nouveaux centres courrier et dans la distribution.

Swiss Post International a enregistré des produits d'exploitation de 788 millions de francs (2009: 877 millions) et un résultat de 49 millions (2009: 53 millions). Ce recul découle essentiellement d'effets extraordinaires, notamment des charges uniques de restructuration induites par la décision de Deutsche Post de confier dorénavant à sa propre société DHL l'importation des colis en Suisse, tâche autrefois assumée par La Poste Suisse. Swiss Post Solutions a dégagé des produits d'exploitation de 665 millions de francs (2009: 696 millions) et un résultat de 7 millions, en hausse sensible par rapport à l'exercice précédent où des dépenses uniques liées à l'intégration et à la restructuration de différentes sociétés avaient entraîné un résultat de moins 25 millions de francs. Quant à l'unité du groupe Réseau postal et vente, elle a amélioré son résultat à moins 108 millions de francs (2009: 113 millions) pour des produits d'exploitation de 1,769 milliard de francs (2009: 1,359 milliard). Ont influé positivement sur ce résultat, non seulement l'intégration de Timbres-poste et philatélie, mais aussi la bonne évolution générale des activités, notamment la vente d'articles de marque non postaux ainsi que les mesures en matière de coûts liées au développement du réseau postal.

Sur le marché de la logistique, le résultat a progressé par rapport à 2009, passant de 119 millions de francs à 164 millions (2009: 45 millions). PostLogistics a notamment tiré profit de la hausse du volume des colis (+3,8%), induite par la conjoncture et par le commerce électronique, ainsi que des améliorations considérables de l’efficacité. Le recul modéré des produits à 1,478 milliard (2009: 1,488 milliard) a été largement compensé par une baisse des charges. Avec un résultat de 571 millions de francs, le marché des services financiers grand public (PostFinance) est celui qui a le plus contribué au résultat consolidé (2009: 441 millions). L'augmentation des produits d'exploitation à 2,389 milliards (2009: 2,160 milliards) découle largement de la hausse des fonds de clients et, partant, de l'augmentation du résultat des opérations d'intérêts ainsi que de la baisse des correctifs de valeur. Sur le marché des transports publics en pleine expansion, CarPostal a réalisé des produits d'exploitation de 702 millions de francs (2009: 640 millions) et un résultat d'exploitation de 28 millions de francs (2009: 27 millions).

Maîtriser les coûts et assurer les recettes

Les perspectives conjoncturelles modérément bonnes ainsi que le durcissement de la concurrence, la poursuite de l'effet de substitution, les processus d'optimisation des envois des clients commerciaux, la base de fonds propres encore insuffisante ainsi que la dépendance unilatérale trop importante de la Poste par rapport aux recettes de PostFinance confortent le groupe dans sa volonté de poursuivre sur la voie qu'il s'est fixée. L'objectif de la Poste est de maîtriser les coûts, d'étayer ses recettes aussi largement que possible et d'offrir à sa clientèle d'excellentes prestations à des prix conformes au marché.

Chiffres clés du groupe

Chiffre Unité 2010 2009
Produits d’exploitation4 mio. CHF 8736 8558
Résultat d'exploitation (EBIT)1 mio. CHF 930 721
en % des produits d'exploitation (rendement de l'EBIT) % 10.7 8.4
Bénéfice consolidé mio. CHF 910 728
Total du bilan mio. CHF 93 310 84 676
Fonds propres mio. CHF 4224 3534
Investissements2 mio. CHF 364 431
Effectifs du groupe Poste (sans apprentis) unités de personnel3 45 129 44 803
à l'étranger unités de personnel3 7255 6986
Apprentis du groupe Poste Suisse unités de personnel3 1824 1690
Lettres adressées Suisse mio. d'envois 2365 2401
Colis Suisse mio. d'envois 108 104
Points d'accès nombre 3612 3607

Chiffres clés des segments (unités du groupe)

Marché de la communication Chiffre Unité 2010 2009
Marché de la communication Résultat d'exploitation1,5 CHF million 147 113
PostMail Produits d’exploitation5 mio. CHF 2619 2808
PostMail Résultat d'exploitation (EBIT)1,5 mio. CHF 199 198
Swiss Post International Produit d'exploitation4, 5 mio. CHF 788 877
Swiss Post International Résultat d'exploitation (EBIT)1,5 mio. CHF 49 53
Swiss Post International Expédition de lettres (hors Suisse) mio. d'envois 74,4 170
Swiss Post Solutions Produits d’exploitation mio. CHF 665 696
Swiss Post Solutions Résultat d'exploitation (EBIT)1 mio. CHF 7 -25
Réseau postal et vente   Produits d’exploitation5 mio. CHF 1769 1359
Réseau postal et vente   Résultat d'exploitation (EBIT)1,5 mio. CHF -108 -113

Logistics market Chiffre Unité 2010 2009
PostLogistics Produits d’exploitation5 mio. CHF 1478 1488
PostLogistics Résultat d'exploitation (EBIT)1,5 mio. CHF 164 45

Marché des services financiers grand public Chiffre Unité 2010 2009
PostFinance Produits d’exploitation mio. CHF 2389 2160
PostFinance Résultat d'exploitation (EBIT)1 mio. CHF 571 441
PostFinance Afflux de nouveaux capitaux mio. CHF 10 662 20 120

Marché des transports publics Chiffre Unité 2010 2009
CarPostal Produits d’exploitation mio. CHF 702 640
CarPostal Résultat d'exploitation (EBIT)1 mio. CHF 28 27
CarPostal Voyageurs Suisse millions 121 118

1 Le résultat d’exploitation correspond au bénéfice d'exploitation avant résultat financier non opérationnel et impôts (EBIT).
2 Investissements en immobilisations corporelles, participations et immobilisations incorporelles
3 Effectifs moyens convertis équivalents plein temps
4 Suite à un retraitement des états financiers, les valeurs de SPI de l'exercice précédent ont été adaptées.
5 Suite à un reclassement des produits, une comparaison avec les valeurs de l'exercice précédent n'est possible que partiellement.