Early delivery: Swiss Post and unions reach agreement on CEC

Press release dated 18.12.2009

Swiss Post and the trade unions Kommunikation, transfair and comedia have agreed on a collective employment contract (CEC) for the early delivery of newspapers. Thanks to the CEC the employees are covered by a collective contract negotiated by the social partners. Around 10,000 employees of Presto Presse-Vertriebs AG will be subject to the CEC. Presto is a subsidiary of Swiss Post, into which the early delivery organizations of Tamedia and NZZ have been merged. The CEC will enter into force on 1 March 2010.

The Presto CEC administers the early delivery of newspapers, which has so far not been very clearly regulated in terms of labour law, and where employees usually only work for one or two hours a day. The CEC negotiated by the four parties entails noticeable improvements in terms of social security for early delivery carriers. For instance, employees who are unable to work as a result of illness will be entitled to 80% of their average salary for a period of two years. Employees who work less than eight hours per week will also be insured against non-occupational accidents. In addition, employees who meet the corresponding statutory requirements will be included in the Swiss Post pension fund.

Involvement

Furthermore, new regulations provide for involvement of the social partners in the annual salary measures. The CEC has been concluded for three years, and the contractual parties will conduct negotiations for its renewal within the appropriate period of notice before it expires. The CEC applies to all employees who work in the early delivery segment. The senior management, managers and administrative staff of Presto Presse-Vertriebs AG are not subject to this CEC.

Distribution matinale: La Poste et les syndicats s’accordent sur une nouvelle CCT

Communication du 18.12.2009

La Poste Suisse et le Syndicat de la Communication ainsi que les syndicats transfair et comedia sont parvenues à un accord sur une nouvelle convention collective de travail (CCT) relative à la distribution matinale des journaux. Avec cette CCT, les collaborateurs sont maintenant partie d’un contrat collectif issu de partenariat social. Quelque 10000 collaborateurs de la société Presto Presse-Vertriebs AG seront soumis à la CCT. Presto est une société du groupe Poste née de la fusion des organisations de distribution matinale de laPoste, de Tamedia et du groupe NZZ. La nouvelle CCT entrera en vigueur le 1ermars 2010.

Avec la CCTPresto, le secteur de la distribution matinale des journaux, jusqu’ici peu réglementé du point de vue du droit du travail et dans lequel la plupart des collaborateurs ne travaillent qu’une à deux heures par jour, vient d’être structuré. L’accord négocié entre les quatre partenaires sociaux améliore en effet sensiblement la situation des distributeurs matinaux en termes de sécurité sociale. Ainsi, les collaborateurs en incapacité de travail par suite de maladie auront droit à 80% de leur salaire moyen pendant deux ans et ceux qui travaillent moins de huit heures par semaine seront aussi assurés contre les accidents non professionnels. De plus, les collaborateurs satisfaisant aux conditions légales applicables seront admis au sein de la Caisse de pensions Poste.

Participation

La CCTPresto règle également la participation des syndicats aux négociations sur les mesures salariales annuelles. Elle est conclue pour une durée de trois ans et il est prévu que les parties négocient son renouvellement en temps utile, soit avant son échéance. La CCTPresto s’applique à tous les collaborateurs travaillant dans la distribution matinale des journaux, mais non aux membres de la direction, ni aux cadres et au personnel administratif de la société.