Employee survey 2012: Committed and satisfied employees at Swiss Post

Press release dated 09.08.2012

Employees of Swiss Post are highly committed and satisfied with their employer. This was revealed by the 2012 survey sent to over 50,000 employees. The scores at group level have remained high compared with the previous year.

The 2012 survey demonstrates that Swiss Post is popular with its employees. Many posties are proud to work for their company. They support the products and services in their unit and are prepared to deliver an above-average performance. Once again, the evaluation of personal commitment came out best: It remained high with a score of 83 out of 100. The commitment index consists of questions on attitude and the conduct of employees (willingness to perform, identification and staff turnover) and forms the central element of the measurement model.

Teamwork scores better

As in the previous year, the picture is similar throughout the whole group. Once again, the evaluation of employee satisfaction scored 75 points and for customer focus 79 points. Many employees indicated that customer focus rates highly in their team. The quality factors for work situation and unit fitness revealed the only significant change at group level: The evaluation of cooperation in the team, within the group units and across the units rose by one point to 73 points. According to employees, the way in which conflicts within their teams are resolved also improved.

Strategy and management

As in previous years, the questions on Swiss Post strategy achieved a medium positive score of 68 points. This includes, for example, questions on whether Swiss Post has changed in a positive way, or whether the group units are moving in the right direction. The management evaluation also achieved the same high score (71 points) as in the previous year, thereby receiving a medium positive score.

Response rate at 75 per cent

According to the survey model, ratings between 60 and 74 points represent a medium positive evaluation, and ratings between 75 and 84 points constitute a high positive evaluation. The anonymous survey was sent to around 50,000 employees in 20 countries. The response rate was a good 75 per cent with almost 38,000 answers. Swiss Post will now analyse the results and take any measures necessary.

Results of the 2012 employee survey

Index
per unit
Group 2011 Group 2012 PostMail 2011 PostMail 2012 PostLogistics 2011 PostLogistics 2012 PostFinance 2011 PostFinance 2012
Commitment 83 83 83 84 82 83 88 87
- Identification 81 81 82 82 81 81 86 86
- Staff turnover 81 81 82 82 80 80 87 87
- Willingness to perform 87 87 87 87 86 86 90 90
Work situation 75 75 76 77 73 73 78 77
Unit fitness* 72 72 71 72 70 71 77 75
Customer focus 79 79 78 78 79 79 83 82
Employee satisfaction 75 75 75 76 73 73 80 79

Index
per unit
PostBus 2011 PostBus 2012 Post Offices & Sales 2011 Post Offices & Sales 2012 Swiss Post International 2011 Swiss Post International 2012 Swiss Post Solutions 2011 Swiss Post Solutions 2012
Commitment 85 86 81 80 84 85 79 79
- Identification 84 85 79 78 82 83 75 75
- Staff turnover 84 85 79 78 83 84 76 76
- Willingness to perform 89 89 84 84 88 88 85 85
Work situation 71 73 77 76 73 74 70 71
Unit fitness* 70 71 72 71 72 73 70 71
Customer focus 77 78 77 75 79 80 81 81
Employee satisfaction 75 76 76 75 73 73 66 67

* Unit fitness encompasses factors such as strategy, management, innovation and teamwork

Personalumfrage 2012: Engagierte und zufriedene Mitarbeitende bei der Post

Mitteilung vom 09.08.2012

Die Mitarbeitenden der Schweizerischen Post sind in hohem Mass engagiert und zufrieden mit ihrer Arbeitgeberin. Das hat die Personalumfrage 2012 ergeben, die an über 50 000 Mitarbeitende geschickt wurde. Die Werte auf Konzernebene blieben im Vergleich zum Vorjahr unverändert auf hohem Niveau.

Die Schweizerische Post ist bei ihren Mitarbeitenden als Arbeitgeberin beliebt, wie die Personalumfrage 2012 zeigt. Viele Pöstlerinnen und Pöstler sind stolz darauf, für ihr Unternehmen zu arbeiten. Sie stehen hinter den Produkten und Dienstleistungen ihres Bereichs und sind bereit, eine überdurchschnittliche Leistung zu erbringen. Erneut schnitt denn auch die Beurteilung des persönlichen Engagements am besten ab: Mit 83 von 100 Punkten blieb sie unverändert hoch. Der Index «Engagement» setzt sich zusammen aus Fragen zur Einstellung und zum Verhalten der Mitarbeitenden (Leistungsbereitschaft, Identifikation und Personalfluktuation) und ist das zentrale Element des Messmodells.

Zusammenarbeit besser bewertet

Über den ganzen Konzern hinweg gesehen, zeichnet sich ein ähnliches Bild wie im Vorjahr. Die Beurteilung der Personalzufriedenheit lag erneut bei 75 Punkten, jene der Kundenorientierung bei 79. Viele Mitarbeitende gaben an, die Kundenorientierung habe in ihrem Team einen hohen Stellenwert. Bei den Qualitätsfaktoren zur Arbeitssituation und zur Bereichsfitness ergab sich die einzige signifikante Veränderung auf Konzernebene: Die Beurteilung der Zusammenarbeit im Team, innerhalb der Konzernbereiche und bereichsübergreifend stieg um einen Punkt auf 73 Punkte. Nach Ansicht der Mitarbeitenden verbesserte sich auch die Art und Weise, wie Konflikte in ihrem Team gelöst werden.

Strategie und Management

Wie in den Vorjahren erzielten die Fragen zur Strategie der Post mit 68 Punkten einen mittleren positiven Wert. Dazu gehören beispielsweise Fragen, ob sich die Post positiv verändert hat oder ob sich die Konzernbereiche in die richtige Richtung bewegen. Auch die Beurteilung des Managements lag mit 71 Punkten auf der Höhe des Vorjahrs und erzielte damit ebenfalls einen mittleren positiven Wert.

Rücklaufquote bei 75 Prozent

Gemäss Umfragemodell entsprechen Werte von 60 bis 74 Punkten einer mittleren positiven Beurteilung, Werte von 75 bis 84 Punkten einer hohen positiven Beurteilung. Die anonymisierte Umfrage war an über 50 000 Mitarbeitende in 20 Ländern verschickt worden. Mit knapp 38 000 Antworten lag die Rücklaufquote bei guten 75 Prozent. Die Post wird die Ergebnisse nun analysieren und wo nötig Massnahmen ergreifen.

Resultate der Personalumfrage 2012

Index
pro Bereich
Konzern 2011 Konzern 2012 PostMail 2011 PostMail 2012 PostLogistics 2011 PostLogistics 2012 PostFinance 2011 PostFinance 2012
Engagement 83 83 83 84 82 83 88 87
- Identifikation 81 81 82 82 81 81 86 86
- Personalfluktuation 81 81 82 82 80 80 87 87
- Leistungs-
bereitschaft
87 87 87 87 86 86 90 90
Arbeitssituation 75 75 76 77 73 73 78 77
Bereichsfitness* 72 72 71 72 70 71 77 75
Kundenorientierung 79 79 78 78 79 79 83 82
Personalzufriedenheit 75 75 75 76 73 73 80 79

Index
pro Bereich
PostAuto 2011 PostAuto 2012 Poststellen und Verkauf 2011 Poststellen und Verkauf 2012 Swiss Post International 2011 Swiss Post International 2012 Swiss Post Solutions 2011 Swiss Post Solutions 2012
Engagement 85 86 81 80 84 85 79 79
- Identifikation 84 85 79 78 82 83 75 75
- Personalfluktuation 84 85 79 78 83 84 76 76
- Leistungs-
bereitschaft
89 89 84 84 88 88 85 85
Arbeitssituation 71 73 77 76 73 74 70 71
Bereichsfitness* 70 71 72 71 72 73 70 71
Kundenorientierung 77 78 77 75 79 80 81 81
Personalzufriedenheit 75 76 76 75 73 73 66 67

* Bereichsfitness umfasst Faktoren wie Strategie, Management, Innovation und Zusammenarbeit.