"pro clima mailing": compensation project for Swiss Post

Press release dated 16.01.2012

Since the beginning of 2009, letters, parcels and goods consignments can be mailed with the "pro clima" surcharge, thereby offsetting the associated CO2  emissions. These surcharges are invested entirely in climate protection projects. Customers can now take part in an online vote to determine in which international Gold Standard climate protection project Swiss Post will invest its "pro clima" surcharges from 2011. For the first time, part of the CO2 emissions will be offset with a Swiss environmental protection project. Swiss Post has also invested in environmentally friendly parcel delivery: all gas-powered vehicles were run on biogas in 2011.

Customers wishing to offset the COemissions generated by their mailings have been able to do so since February 2009 by paying a "pro clima" surcharge. Swiss Post will invest the collected surcharges in high-quality climate protection projects, which would otherwise not have been possible without additional funding. The consignments will be CO2-neutral. With more than 191 million consignments and 260 business customers to its name, the "pro clima – mailing" service has achieved gratifying results. Swiss Post also makes use of "pro clima – mailing" to offset the CO2 emissions resulting from its own correspondence.

Three projects for selection

Swiss Post pursues a consistent climate protection strategy: We are reducing our energy consumption as much as possible and replacing energy from fossil sources with renewable energies. With the help of the "pro clima – mailing" offering, customers can send their consignments in a particularly environmentally friendly way by offsetting CO2 emissions from their remaining energy consumption. Swiss Post invests all of these surcharges in environmental protection projects of the highest standard. This year, part of the "pro clima" surcharges will also be invested for the first time in a Swiss Project that generates green electricity on farms using small and medium-sized agricultural  biogas plants. In addition, a project outside Switzerland will be sponsored to offset CO2, as in previous years. Customers have until 31 January to choose from the following three projects:

Small biogas plants for private households in Cambodia

Introducing biogas plants in private households will not only save on energy costs but also reduce the work involved in collecting firewood. Families in Cambodia will have clean fuel for cooking and gas for lightingThus, greenhouse gas emissions will be reduced. The plants would result in smoke-free kitchens, fewer health problems and fertile slurry, which could be used for agricultural purposes.

Energy-efficient ovens in Ghana

The use of increasingly limited supplies of firewood is becoming more and more problematic in Ghana. An emission reduction project has therefore been launched, providing private households with inexpensive, energy-efficient ovens. The project creates jobs and development potential throughout the entire value chain.

Wind power project in Çatalca, Turkey

The wind park in Çatalca in the Istanbul province of Turkey contributes significantly to the production of renewable energy by generating clean electricity and feeding it into the public network. Wind power is a sustainable, renewable energy source and a technology with a low environmental impact.

Biogas for parcel delivery

According to Swiss Post's environmental strategy, it increases energy efficiency and bets on renewable energy sources. In 2011, Swiss Post thus converted all of its 140 gas-powered vehicles to biogas from Erdgas Zürich. The environmentally friendly biogas comes from a naturemade star-certified plant in Volketswil, Canton Zurich, and is produced using only food waste.

«pro clima-Versand»: Kompensationsprojekt für die Post

Mitteilung vom 16.01.2012

Seit Anfang 2009 können Briefe, Pakete und Güter mit dem «pro clima»-Zuschlag versendet und damit die CO2-Emissionen kompensiert werden. Diese Zuschläge fliessen vollumfänglich in Klimaschutzprojekte. In einer Internetwahl können Kunden ab sofort wieder mitbestimmen, in welches internationale Gold-Standard-Klimaschutzprojekt die Post die «pro clima»-Zuschläge aus dem Jahr 2011 investieren soll. Erstmals wird ein Teil der CO2-Emissionen mit einem Schweizer Klimaschutzprojekt kompensiert. Investiert hat die Post zudem in die klimaschonende Paketzustellung: 2011 fuhren dort alle Gasfahrzeuge mit Biogas.

Wer die CO2-Emissionen kompensieren will, die beim Postversand entstehen, kann dies seit Februar 2009 mit dem «pro clima»-Zuschlag tun. Die gesammelten Zuschläge investiert die Post in hochwertige Klimaschutzprojekte, die ohne Zusatzfinanzierung nicht realisierbar wären. Dadurch werden die Sendungen CO2-neutral. Der «pro clima – Versand» hat sich seit der Einführung mit mehr als 191 Millionen Sendungen und über 260 Geschäftskunden erfreulich entwickelt. Die Post nutzt den «pro clima – Versand» selber und kompensiert die CO2-Emissionen, die durch ihre Korrespondenz entstehen.

Drei Projekte zur Auswahl

Die Post verfolgt eine konsequente Klimaschutzstrategie: Sie reduziert den Energieverbrauch so weit wie möglich und ersetzt Energien aus fossilen Quellen durch erneuerbare Energien. Über das Angebot «pro clima – Versand» können Kunden ihre Sendungen klimaneutral verschicken, indem die CO2-Emissionen aus dem Energieverbrauch kompensiert werden. Die Post investiert diese Zuschläge vollumfänglich in Klimaschutzprojekte mit höchsten Standards. Dieses Jahr wird mit einem Teil der «pro clima»-Zuschläge erstmals auch ein Schweizer Projekt unterstützt, das mit kleinen und mittleren landwirtschaftlichen Biogasanlagen auf Bauernhöfen Ökostrom produziert. Zudem wird wie in den Jahren zuvor zur CO2-Kompensation in ein ausländisches Projekt investiert. Kundinnen und Kunden wählen bis 31. Januar aus folgenden drei Projekten:

Kleine Biogasanlagen für Privathaushalte in Kambodscha

Mit Biogasanlagen in Privathaushalten können Energiekosten eingespart werden, und es fällt weniger Arbeit für das Sammeln von Brennholz an. Dank dem Einsatz von Biogas erhalten Familien in Kambodscha einen sauberen Brennstoff zum Kochen und Gas für die Beleuchtung. Dadurch werden Treibhausgasemissionen reduziert. Die Anlagen führen zu rauchfreien Küchen, mindern Gesundheitsprobleme und liefern fruchtbare Gülle, die für die Landwirtschaft genutzt werden kann.

Energieeffiziente Kochöfen in Ghana

Die Verwendung von immer seltener werdendem Brennholz ist ein zunehmendes Problem in Ghana. Deshalb wurde ein Projekt zur CO2-Emissionsreduktion ins Leben gerufen, das energieeffiziente Kochöfen für Privathaushalte zu günstigen Preisen zur Verfügung stellt. Das Projekt schafft Arbeitsplätze und Entwicklungspotenzial über die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette hinweg.

Windenergieprojekt in Çatalca, Türkei

Mit der Erzeugung sauberen Stroms und dessen Einspeisung in das öffentliche Netz trägt der Windpark Çatalca in der Provinz Istanbul massgeblich zur Produktion von erneuerbaren Energien bei. Windenergie ist eine nachhaltige, erneuerbare Energiequelle und eine Technologie mit geringen Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt.

Biogas für die Paketzustellung

Gemäss der Klimaschutzstrategie der Post steigert sie die Energieeffizienz und setzt auf erneuerbare Energieträger. Deshalb hat die Post letztes Jahr ihre 140 Gasfahrzeuge in der Zustellung zu 100 Prozent auf Biogas von erdgas Zürich umgestellt. Das klimafreundliche Biogas stammt aus einer naturemade star zertifizierten Anlage aus Volketswil (ZH), die für die Produktion ausschliesslich Abfallstoffe verwendet.