Thriving PostFinance

Press release dated 16.08.2012

PostFinance has been successful in the first semester of 2012. Profit amounted to CHF 296 million. Swiss Post’s financial institute gained 63,000 new customers who opened 134,000 new accounts. The customer assets it manages amounted to CHF 102 billion. In a difficult context, PostFinance created 42 new full-time jobs. Preparatory work for assigning PostFinance under the FINMA’s supervision is going as planned.

PostFinance generated a profit of CHF 296 million in the first semester of 2012. This was 9.5 percent lower compared to the same period of the previous year (CHF 327 million). This result was primarily due to the historically low interest rates on the financial markets. PostFinance sometimes deposits customer’s money interest-free at the Swiss National Bank, which heavily pressures the interest margin. The customer assets under management amounted to CHF 102 billion at the end of June.

New postal accounts and jobs

In the first semester of this year, PostFinance opened 134,000 new accounts and gained 63,000 new customers. All together, the financial institute had a total of over 2.85 million customers with almost 4.5 million accounts by the end of June. Half of the customers manage their finances electronically with e-finance: 1.4 million users have made PostFinance the number one in Swiss online banking. PostFinance once more increased the amount of full-time jobs between January and June 2012 – this time by 42 positions to 3,464.

On the way to PostFinance Ltd

The Swiss parliament had adopted a new Postal Organisation Act at the end of 2010. Amongst other things, it contains PostFinance’s transformation into a public limited company as well as assigning it under the supervision of the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA). The start as a public limited company is planned for the next year. The preparatory works are currently in progress. PostFinance will have a Board of Directors and its own internal auditing department. PostFinance AG will be provided with equity in accordance with the financial market requirements. The FINMA will determine its amount and the time of provision as part of the authorisation process.

PostFinance key figures Q2/2012 Q2/2011 2011
Company profit EBT (CHF million)
including associated companies (SIC, SECB)
296 327 591
Operating income (CHF million)
- Net interest income after losses
- Income from the commission and service business
- Income from the trade business
745
533
146
66
760
541
147
69
1,474
1,024
301
147
Operating expenses (CHF million)
- HR expenses
- Material expenses
446
239
207
424
225
199
872
446
426
Amount of customers (reporting date, in thousands) 2,874 2,738 2,811
Amount of customer accounts (reporting date, in thousands) 4,470 4,182 4,336
Customer assets (annual average, CHF million)  102,062 89,878 92,225
Funds and securities (reporting date, CHF million) 4,367 3,979 3,998
Mortgages from private customers (reporting date, CHF million) 3,918 3,444 3,684
Loans to business customers (reporting date, CHF million) 6,216 6,139 6,842
E-finance users (reporting date, in thousands) 1,415 1,280 1,350
Staff (full-time positions, annual average) 3,464 3,395 3,422
Millions of processed transactions (deadline, accumulated) 458 446 907

Swiss Post’s half-yearly result will be published on 30 August 2012.

Erfolgreiche PostFinance

Mitteilung vom 16.08.2012

PostFinance ist im ersten Semester 2012 erfolgreich unterwegs gewesen. Der Gewinn betrug 296 Millionen Franken. Das Finanzinstitut der Post gewann 63‘000 neue Kundinnen und Kunden, die 134‘000 neue Konten eröffneten. Die verwalteten Kundenvermögen betrugen 102 Milliarden Franken. In einem schwierigen Umfeld schuf PostFinance 42 neue Vollzeitstellen. Die Vorbereitungsarbeiten für die Unterstellung von PostFinance unter die FINMA laufen wie geplant.

PostFinance hat im ersten Semester 2012 einen Gewinn von 296 Millionen Franken erwirtschaftet. Er lag damit 9,5 Prozent tiefer als im gleichen Zeitraum des Vorjahres (327 Millionen Franken). Hauptverantwortlich für das Resultat sind die historisch tiefen Zinsen an den Finanzmärkten. PostFinance parkiert Kundengelder teilweise unverzinst bei der Schweizerischen Nationalbank, was stark auf die Zinsmarge drückt. Die verwalteten Kundenvermögen betrugen Ende Juni 102 Milliarden Franken.

Neue Postkonten und Arbeitsplätze

Im ersten Semester dieses Jahres eröffnete PostFinance 134‘000 neue Konten und gewann 63‘000 neue Kundinnen und Kunden dazu. Insgesamt zählte das Finanzinstitut per Ende Juni über 2,85 Millionen Kunden mit fast 4,5 Millionen Konten. Bereits die Hälfte davon verwaltet ihre Finanzen elektronisch mit E-Finance: 1,4 Millionen User machen PostFinance zur Nummer eins im Schweizer Onlinebanking. Die Anzahl der Vollzeitstellen erhöhte PostFinance von Januar bis Juni 2012 einmal mehr – dieses Mal um 42 auf 3‘464.

Auf dem Weg zur PostFinance AG

Das Parlament hatte Ende 2010 ein neues Postorganisationsgesetz verabschiedet. Es beinhaltet u.a. die Überführung von PostFinance in eine Aktiengesellschaft sowie die Unterstellung unter die Finanzmarktaufsicht (FINMA). Der Start als AG ist für das nächste Jahr vorgesehen. Zurzeit sind die Vorbereitungsarbeiten im Gang. PostFinance wird einen Verwaltungsrat und eine eigene interne Revision erhalten. Die PostFinance AG wird mit Eigenkapital gemäss den finanzmarktrechtlichen Anforderungen ausgestattet werden. Dessen Höhe und den Zeitpunkt der Bereitstellung werden im Rahmen des Bewilligungsprozesses mit der FINMA bestimmt.

Kennzahlen von PostFinance Q2/2012 Q2/2011 2011
Unternehmensgewinn EBT (Mio. CHF)
inkl. assoziierte Gesellschaften (SIC, SECB)
296 327 591
Geschäftsertrag (Mio. CHF)
- Zinserfolg nach Wertberichtigungen
- Erfolg aus dem Kommissions- und DL-Geschäft
- Erfolg aus dem Handelsgeschäft
745
533
146
66
760
541
147
69
1‘474
1‘024
301
147
Geschäftsaufwand (Mio. CHF)
- Personalaufwand
- Sachaufwand
446
239
207
424
225
199
872
446
426
Anzahl Kundinnen und Kunden (Stichtag, Tausend) 2‘874 2‘738 2‘811
Anzahl Kundenkonten (Stichtag, Tausend) 4‘470 4‘182 4‘336
Kundenvermögen (Jahresdurchschnitt, Mio. CHF)  102‘062 89‘878 92‘225
Fonds und Wertschriften (Stichtag, Mio. CHF) 4‘367 3‘979 3‘998
Hypotheken Privatkunden (Stichtag, Mio. CHF) 3‘918 3‘444 3‘684
Ausleihungen Geschäftskunden (Stichtag, Mio. CHF) 6‘216 6‘139 6‘842
Nutzerinnen und Nutzer E-Finance (Stichtag, Tausend) 1‘415 1‘280 1‘350
Personalbestand (Vollzeitstellen, Jahresdurchschnitt) 3‘464 3‘395 3‘422
Mio. verarbeitete Transaktionen (Stichtag, kumuliert) 458 446 907

Das Halbjahresergebnis der Schweizerischen Post wird am 30. August 2012 publiziert.