Early delivery: Swiss Post and unions reach agreement on CEC

Press release dated 18.12.2009

Swiss Post and the trade unions Kommunikation, transfair and comedia have agreed on a collective employment contract (CEC) for the early delivery of newspapers. Thanks to the CEC the employees are covered by a collective contract negotiated by the social partners. Around 10,000 employees of Presto Presse-Vertriebs AG will be subject to the CEC. Presto is a subsidiary of Swiss Post, into which the early delivery organizations of Tamedia and NZZ have been merged. The CEC will enter into force on 1 March 2010.

The Presto CEC administers the early delivery of newspapers, which has so far not been very clearly regulated in terms of labour law, and where employees usually only work for one or two hours a day. The CEC negotiated by the four parties entails noticeable improvements in terms of social security for early delivery carriers. For instance, employees who are unable to work as a result of illness will be entitled to 80% of their average salary for a period of two years. Employees who work less than eight hours per week will also be insured against non-occupational accidents. In addition, employees who meet the corresponding statutory requirements will be included in the Swiss Post pension fund.

Involvement

Furthermore, new regulations provide for involvement of the social partners in the annual salary measures. The CEC has been concluded for three years, and the contractual parties will conduct negotiations for its renewal within the appropriate period of notice before it expires. The CEC applies to all employees who work in the early delivery segment. The senior management, managers and administrative staff of Presto Presse-Vertriebs AG are not subject to this CEC.

Frühzustellung: Post und Gewerkschaften einigen sich auf GAV

Mitteilung vom 18.12.2009

Die Post und die Gewerkschaften Kommunikation, transfair und comedia haben sich auf einen Gesamtarbeitsvertrag (GAV) für die Zeitungs-Frühzustellung geeinigt. Mit dem GAV sind die Mitarbeitenden nun Teil eines sozialpartnerschaftlichen Kollektivvertrages. Dem GAV werden die rund 10‘000 Mitarbeitenden der Presto Presse-Vertriebs AG unterstellt. Presto ist eine Konzerngesellschaft der Post, in der die von Tamedia und NZZ übernommenen Frühzustellorganisationen zusammengeführt wurden. Der GAV tritt auf den 1. März 2010 in Kraft.

Mit dem GAV Presto wird die bis anhin arbeitsrechtlich wenig regulierte Zeitungs-Frühzustellung, in der die Angestellten meist nur ein bis zwei Stunden pro Tag arbeiten, neu formiert. Spürbare Verbesserungen bringt der zwischen den vier Parteien ausgehandelte GAV bei der sozialen Sicherheit für Frühzustellerinnen und Frühzusteller. So haben beispielsweise Mitarbeitende, die infolge Krankheit arbeitsunfähig sind, einen Anspruch auf 80 Prozent des Durchschnittslohnes während zwei Jahren. Auch Mitarbeitende, die weniger als acht Stunden pro Woche arbeiten sind neu für Nichtberufsunfälle versichert. Mitarbeitende, die die entsprechenden gesetzlichen Voraussetzungen erfüllen, werden zudem in die Pensionskasse Post aufgenommen.

Mitwirkung

Weiter ist die sozialpartnerschaftliche Mitwirkung bei den jährlichen Lohnmassnahmen geregelt. Der GAV wurde für eine Dauer von drei Jahren abgeschlossen, rechtzeitig vor seinem Ablauf führen die Vertragsparteien Verhandlungen zu dessen Erneuerung. Der GAV gilt für alle in der Frühzustellung tätigen Mitarbeitenden. Geschäftsleitung, Kader und das administrative Personal der Presto Presse-Vertriebs AG unterstehen nicht diesem GAV.